19 October 2011

Just a thought on all this anti-abortion nonsense...

Why are people STILL throwing fits about abortion? I've seen more and more posts shared on my News Feed lately about how it's unethical, blah blah blah. I understand you were once a fetus as well, but are you that fetus? No. Is it growing inside your body? No. Is it personally affecting you physically or causing you some harm by a stranger deciding to terminate her pregnancy? No. So why do you all have your panties in a twist about this? I am obviously all for voicing your opinion; I do it constantly and most of the time obnoxiously. It's great that you have something that you stand up for and believe in. But when you start shoving beliefs down other peoples' throats that are based on religious morals and ethics... That's when it reaches the point of ridiculousness.

Abortion is common. And the only difference between that and miscarriage is the fact that it was a choice. Women miscarry all the time due to complications within their own body, but are you screaming at them for killing a child due to things they can't control? No. But maybe they're glad they miscarried, because they didn't intend to have the child anyway. Would you be as angry toward them as you are the women who intentionally aborted their fetus? I doubt it. Why? Because it wasn't their choice. When you think about it though, it really isn't any different. They still didn't want the child either. Shouldn't that make them equally as bad in your eyes as the women who obtain abortions? Yet, people feel sorry for women that might potentially be glad they miscarried and judge those who choose to end the pregnancy. It isn't fair when you think about it.

Of course, most of the arguments people like to make about this have to do with their religious upbringing. They believe the fetus has a soul, that God intended for her to have this child or she wouldn't be pregnant, that it's unnatural, etc etc. And the other arguments are generally based off of other personal ethics. All I have to say about the religious view is that there are billions of people in the world that do not practice your beliefs. And as far as the other personal ethics go, if it doesn't affect you personally, get over it. It isn't your life, your body, or your unborn child. We have plenty of children in need of a home already, why are you trying to force them to bring a new life into this world that they do not want to or cannot actually take care of? Instead of worrying about the unborn children, worry about the ones who don't have parents.

And then you've got the people who are against abortion except for cases including rape, incest, or when it is life-threatening to the mother. I don't think there should be any gray area when it comes to ethical debates. Either you think it's wrong or you don't. It's that simple. The life-threatening situation is totally understandable for you to support, but either way you would be losing a life and gaining another. So if in all other circumstances the baby's life is that important, then why is it suddenly the mother's life is now more important than the baby's? She's had her chance at living and has enjoyed her time here, so why not let the baby have a chance if it matters so much to you? Think about that. For the rape cases, I won't even touch that topic. And incest? The main reason for this being "okay" is what, because of physical or mental deformities of the child, right? Please correct me if that's wrong. But if that's the case, then what about the other handicapped children? Many doctors can find these issues during the pregnancy, so in this instance, you're basically saying they should be "okay" for abortion too. Right? Basically what I'm getting at is most of you who are on the fence about this argument are being hypocritical, which is why I think this should be in black and white. It's either right or wrong in your opinion. There should be no other option, because it opens too many possibilities for other arguments of what situations are and are not acceptable.

I'm not saying I like abortion, by any means. So if that's what you got out of this, then I apologize. I am not promoting it or saying I would ever have one, nor am I saying I'm against it. I think that it's a personal choice, and other people should have no say in what happens about someone else's fetus. People outside of the situation should not be dictating what other women should do with their lives. And the government should not be allowed to legislate on an issue based purely on personal beliefs either. Voice your opinion if you will, but don't make them feel guilty about making a choice for their own lives. Maybe if you were in their situation, you would understand better. Instead of throwing all these anti-abortion messages around, you should be supportive and respectful of the fact that it is indeed her body, her choice, and her possible emotional trauma to follow. After all, you know her name, not her story; you know what she's done, not what she's been through. Respect and love, don't judge and hate.

No comments:

Post a Comment