I'm trying to be positive, I am, believe me. But right now it's not even 9am and I already wish today was over. I've been awake for about two hours, if that, and nothing has made my day better aside from waking up to a sweet text from my wonderful boyfriend. BUT I truly just don't feel like ranting to people at work today, so I decided I'd do it on here instead. At least people are less inclined to read/listen if I post it on here.
Let's begin with waking up! My dad just brought me my great-grandma's old bedframe along with some mattresses yesterday, so for the first time in months, I had a real bed of my own. Not some stupid uncomfortable bunk bed. Not an air mattress. Not a guest bedroom deal. MY OWN BED. It's cozier than kittens, and I LOVE it. So after a great night's sleep, getting out of bed when I'm still tired enough to stay in it was difficult. I almost woke up late because I fell back asleep after I shut my alarm off. It's just perfect, okay? And I was bonding with it and am angry that I had to leave it.
Then there was the morning in traffic. Well, for a Monday the flow wasn't that bad at all. At least, not for driving through downtown Indy while everyone is trying to go to work. The first problem wasn't congestion. Oh no. I got myself stuck behind a cop. And this wasn't one of those cops who liked to speed past everyone. Of course not! He wanted to go 60mph. Which means, if I had tried to pass him, I couldn't do it going much faster than him. BUT I COULDN'T! Why? Because everyone else was too scared to pass him, so I got stuck in all the traffic that congealed around him instead. That made me almost late.
Luckily, I got to my exit (just a mile or so away from work) about 5 til 8- plenty of time to get there! Right? WRONG. No, of course, once I got off at the exit, traffic was super backed up. Once I got closer to the light I realized what the problem was- there was semi that broke down right at the intersection at one of the two turn lanes. So instead of merging every other car and being considerate that everyone was probably running late and not just us, all the traffic in my lane would barely let the other people over. I let in three cars because I felt bad that people were being assholes. Do they not understand the concept of merging? I was running late too, but I wasn't cutting people off like they were. People have absolutely no consideration for others anymore and it sickens me. Karma karma karma. Just saying...
So finally I got to work. 8:00 on the dot. Turned on my computer to log on and clock in. But what's this? Oh no, Kristan can't clock in! Her server wants to be a big bag of chodes and kick her off when she literally JUST turned on her computer! It's not even lunchtime yet and it's already screwing up! OH THE JOY! So by the time I finally got my stupid computer to pull up my time clock, it was 8:06 when I punched in. I better not get penalized as being late for that. This system we use sucks and I am tired of it! UGH.
Once I was punched in and had my email up, guess what happened? Well I decided to read my emails of course! First email I opened was from some chick whose company leases/rents from us. I had sent her a request for reports that I need by the end of the month, and rather than just looking for the information herself she asks me to find something for her. Excuse me, but you should know which units of ours you have. You may not use our unit numbers, but you know WHICH EFFING TRUCKS ARE OURS. Why in the hell do you need me to find the vehicle ID numbers when I need the reports for ALL OF OUR TRUCKS THAT YOU HAVE. You should know which ones are ours because they have our effing name on it! OH MY GOD. I get so angry when people are all like "oh will you give me this information" because no I very well effing won't. You have a database with information, you can look it up yourself. I am not your assistant. I do not work for your company. If you want to pay me to do your work for you, I gladly will. But I refuse to continually look shit up for customers when they can find it just as easily as I can! It's not my fucking job to keep track of YOUR shit. I enter trip reports and answer phones. I don't keep your files or follow your records. NOT MY PROBLEM, SCREW OFF.
Obviously I should not be working in an office. Not only do I get sick and tired of stupid customers asking me to do their effing research, but they act like it's part of my job. It isn't. And answering the phones makes me want to kill myself. People like to call our number and not pay attention to when I pick up the phone and after like ten seconds "hello? uh, who is this?" UH EXCUSE ME BUT YOU CALLED ME, SO WHO THE HELL ARE YOU? Or they like to start talking over me when I'm trying to answer. LISTEN DBAG, I am not an automated recording. If you talk over me I will just ask you to repeat what you said AFTER I've finished speaking. Then I get the idiots who think I actually care who they are and what they want. No. Tell me who you need to talk to and I will transfer you. I don't care about what part broke in your truck, I don't care what company you're from, and I sure as hell don't care about your personal problems. Tell me who you need, plain and simple. Otherwise I'll just tune you out until you do. Thanks. My FAVORITE people who call though, are the ones who dial and hang up after I answer. Oh I get so much joy out of that! I wasted my time to stop mid-thought with whatever I'm working on to pick up the phone, and you hang up on me? If you have the wrong number, tell me. Don't be a douche about it. Then I lose my train of thought and by the time I get it back, the damn phone rings again.
I really love coming into work and people ask me how I am. If you don't honestly want to know, then don't effing ask me. I will tell you if I'm pissed off and end up ranting. You don't want to hear it? Then don't ask how I am. Tell me good morning or hi or whatever. But don't say "how are you?" because I more than likely will start to tell you how much I hate coming here every single morning. And nobody wants to listen to an employee complain about how much she hates her job.
Don't get me wrong, I love the company. I've grown up around most of these people because my mom's worked for this company since I was a baby. It isn't the place or the people by any means. It's the idiot customers and the monotony of the job! I can't stand it. I hate sitting at a desk all day. It's going to end up making me fat. I've already started gaining weight the past five months since I've been here, and it's gross. Soon as I find two other jobs where I make enough money to pay my bills, I'm out of here. Spending an hour in the car every day to go to a place that sucks all of my energy just isn't worth it.
End rant. Bye.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment