20 November 2009

Decoding Text Messages

This may not necessarily apply to every person you encounter, but it at least is what I'm trying to get across to people when I send certain things to them via text messaging. So here we go...

I say: hi
I mean: I have no idea why you're bothering to talk to me because we both know I have other things I'd rather be doing. Like sticking a hot blade in my eye.
-OR-
This is really awkward that you want to have a conversation. Please get your point across fast or I'm going to make up some kindof excuse to stop talking.

I say: hello
I mean: I don't have much to say to you unless you have something to say to me. And I don't want you to know that I don't feel like talking to you, so I'm not going to say "hi", I'll say this instead.

I say: hey
I mean: I have something to say to you. It may or may not be important, but I need to tell you while it's on my mind or I'll forget.
-OR-
You started a conversation, and I feel you're worthy of my attention, or I'm completely bored and have no one else to talk to right now.

I say: hey there
I mean: I'm excited to be talking to you and definitely want to keep the conversation going. If followed by a winky or smiley face, I'm being flirtatious.

**All greeting meanings are subject to change if followed by an exclamation point (!) or smiley/winky face :) ;). In which case, they would all then mean more or less that I am happy you want to talk to me because I want to talk to you too.

I say: k
I mean: I don't care what else you have to say. I'm pissed off and don't want to talk to you or about this anymore.

I say: ok
I mean: Okay. I probably am just shortening the word because I'm too lazy to finish it due to more important things on my mind, or because of a character limit.

I say: okay
I mean: Alright. You have my attention. I understand what you're trying to tell me.
-OR-
This is sometimes used in a questioning way, as in "Why aren't you responding the way I want you to?". And I'm confused and don't understand what you're trying to get across or what your motives are. This occurs when the use of elipses follows. i.e. "Okay..."

I say: lol
I mean: That was somewhat funny, but only enough to make me laugh in my head. Try harder next time if you're trying to be funny on purpose.
-OR-
That actually made me crack a smile. **This is only when followed by a smiley face.

I say: lmao
I mean: I'm not necessarily literally laughing, but that was funny enough that I thought it deserved more of an emphasis on the laughter.

I say: lmfao
I mean: I most likely literally laughed out loud. Whatever you did or said what hilarious and made me chuckle. :)

I say: xD or XD
I mean: I find that funny. (This is a type of smiley, for those who aren't aware.)

I say: xP or XP
I mean: I'm just joking with you. Don't get upset or take offense to anything I say.

I say: :/
I mean: I'm a little upset about something. Not too big of a deal.

I say: D:
I mean: I'm shocked.

I say: >:(
I mean: I'm super frustrated, borderline angry about something.

I say: :(
I mean: I'm sorry.
-OR-
I feel bad/sad.

I say: D:<
I mean: I'm super pissed to the point where I will chew your head off if you say the wrong thing.

I say: ughh
I mean: That frustrates me and is really annoying.

I say: omg
I mean: Something major must've happened to make me mad enough to even say this. I'm flipping out about something hardcore.

I say: ....
I mean: I have more to say, but I was interrupted by a character limit.
-OR-
I have more to say, but am afraid to say it because I don't know how you'll react to it.

I say: haha (or any variation thereof)
I mean: That's humorous to some extent.
-OR-
I'm just laughing to make you feel better about yourself.

I say: i love you
I mean: I love you, and I mean it. **With the exception of following a laughing expression, i.e. haha i love you. In which case, it means you're funny and that's why I like to hang out with you. :)

I say: love you
I mean: If said first, I probably made you feel bad and I'm trying to apologize without saying sorry.
-OR-
If said in response, i.e. "love you too", I'm mad at you and telling me you love me isn't going to make it magically go away.

I say: love ya
I mean: I care about you, and want you to know it. But I don't feel enough of an attachment to you for me to say I love you.
-OR-
You're probably just a really close friend, or part of my family. And I feel this response is better for that use.

I say: ily
I mean: I'm too lazy to type out "I love you", because I probably don't mean it super literally. I just mean you're a good friend and I care about you a lot.

I say: ? or ..?
I mean: I don't understand what you're telling me. You either confused me or something you said just doesn't make sense. Try to explain your meaning to me, because I'm just not getting it.
-OR-
I understand what you said and mean, but I don't know WHY you are saying it.

If you reply with one word, I will not respond. If you don't feel the need to say anything more than what you just said, then why should I bother trying to uphold a conversation? You obviously have nothing more to say, so neither do I.

If I reply with one word, I definitely want to end the conversation. I either just don't feel like talking, or I'm busy. So don't take personal offense to me replying with just one word.

I guess that's it. I'm sure there's more things I say that I didn't mention in here, but this a big majority of the things and phrases I use. If you ever have a question about something I say, just ask. :)

11 November 2009

The Work in Progress... Finally Getting Somewhere?

My page on MySpace has a bucket list I compiled, and one of the things on my list is to get my dad's family back in my life. Well, about three and a half years ago, my dad finally contacted me for the first time in about six years. He picked me up from school one day and I stayed with him for the weekend. At one point he decided to go visit Mark, my half-brother. For the first time in probably six or seven years, I saw him. He had a daughter, Kadence, who was born in the summer of 2005. I got a couple pictures of her, and that was that. I haven't seen or heard from him since.
Now, I barely talk to or see my dad because he's out on the road driving semis. Even though Mark lives right near Chauncey Rose with his girlfriend and their daughter, I've not once seen them in the past three or four years. Then, at work the other day, I got the most surprising text message from Facebook.
It was Mark, asking me through a Facebook message if I'm who he thinks I am. We started talking, exchanged phone numbers. Texted each other for about four hours until I went to bed. I found out his birthday is May 17. He turns 26 next year. (Although, his Facebook says he was born in '83, which means he'd be turning 27. But whatever :P) Kadence turns 5 this coming summer! It's insane... He's still dating Crystal (Krystal? I don't remember if it's a C or K). He works for his stepdad painting cars. He likes playing paintball. Basically his whole life revolves around his daughter.
Even though those four hours were the only time I've talked to him in the past three or four years, I feel like I've known him forever. He said if I ever need anything, not to be shy, and just let him know. Crazy to hear from family you should be closer to, but barely know, right? Ahh... it's just so randomly awesome that he sent me that message. I don't even know.
I'm super excited and happy that I'm getting closer to them all again. I've been randomly visiting my grandpa the past few months, mostly to check in to make sure he's doing okay since my grandma passed, and to hopefully run into my dad there. Usually the only people I see when I go are Danny and Jennifer. I think David might've shown up once or twice though.
Man, I really miss that part of my family. They may not be the most sophisticated, or the most well-off, but they are a really close and loving family. And that's what matters. They aren't as judgmental about things like my mom's family can be. They're open to anything, and I love going to see them, awkward as it might be sometimes.
I told Mark that I should start coming around to see him and Kadence and stuff soon. If I wait too long to go start visiting her, it'll be awkward between me and Kadence later on when she's old enough to remember she doesn't know me that well. I want to get to know her better. I want to spend time with her. She is absolutely adorable!!! I don't know when I'll have time, but I'm definitely going to try to find some time soon to head up to the northside of town to visit and stuff. :)

And as a side note, I really wish I had more time to get online and post blogs. There's a lot that's been on my mind nonstop all the time and sometimes it helps to vent openly like this. I've been so super stressed. I'm glad it's finally the end of the trimester. Plus my birthday is in two days!!! But other than that, I know next week will be just another trimester, and I'll have to start taking PreCalc, and then I'll be even more stressed because that's the part of math that I actually struggle with learning a little bit. :/. At least I'll have second period as a guidance runner, so I will have a little extra time to catch up on stuff. :) Technically only three classes next tri: English AP, Chem AP, and PreCalc. Then I've just got orchestra. :) I'm pretty excited. Hopefully it'll be better than this trimester. And then last tri will be easiest of all because I'll basically be done with my AP classes, and I'll just have to worry about German 3, and PreCalc. And US History will be cake. :)