My head hurts. My hands are cramped from spending so much time writing notes, balancing equations, and pretending to translate German when I'm really just copying off of one of the seniors in class. My eyes are sore from staring at this computer screen for the past hour (okay, maybe a couple more than that). If I get off the computer now, maybe I'll actually get my English homework done. But I really don't want to. I'd rather sit here and complain to an unexistent audience about how stressed out I am.
I spent my first class of the day doing practically nothing. Chemistry isn't so bad, but we just took a chapter 3 test yesterday and apparently Mr. Wonderful (no, that's not his real name) thinks we should've already read through chapter 4 so we can have a full chapter discussion. Uhh, no? I spent yesterday copying three paragraphs of The Scarlet Letter for AP English. Okay, so I did that in German class. But I still got my German assignment done! And after I got home from that IU Preview Day "conference" at Holiday Inn at 9 p.m., I was not about to spend the next three hours of my night studying chemistry.
And why exactly did I have to copy three paragraphs verbatim for English? Because today we had to "Describe Hawthorne's diction in TSL". Pointless, if you ask me. And when I volunteer to read what I write, of course it's wrong. I don't know why, but I can't seem to do anything right in that class. Don't get me wrong- I love English. It's my favorite subject. I've been writing poetry and prose since I was 9, and I intend to continue doing that for the rest of my life. But for some reason, I can't stand that class.
Maybe it's because there's around 30 kids in there. Maybe it's because I'm not so fond of half the people that sit right around me. Maybe it's because nobody in that class knows how to shut their mouths and keep it that way. I'm so tired of hearing non-stop chatter in there. The people around me are the worst. Granted, some of them that sit right near me are really good friends of mine. Still, though, I absolutely hate all the nonsense that goes on in there. And to top all of that annoyingness off, tonight I'm supposed to "Examine Hawthorne's use of detail in TSL". Yeah, right. Just like I'm going to write that summer reading book review that's due tomorrow for 40/20 points. Whatever. I'm not writing some stupid book review about a book I didn't even bother to read. Just because teachers don't have a life during summer, doesn't mean kids aren't doing things to stay busy. I did a musical in June, and went to a Summer Honors program at ISU in July. The rest of that time was filled with softball games, practices, and tournament. Like I actually had time to read The Joy Luck Club, Invisible Man, or The Glass Menagerie.
While we're on the subject of classes... Orchestra sucks. I love playing viola, I honestly and truly do. But I can't stand it when 96% of the class is freshmen. Cadet orchestra is the worst possible class to take, ever. I still don't understand why they had to switch the hours for cadet and concert orchestra. If they hadn't, I'd be able to be in concert both trimesters that I'm in orchestra. And that's something I just can't seem to let go. Everyday it gets worse and worse. Freshmen won't listen. Freshmen won't play correctly. Freshmen just suck in general. I do admit, there are some exceptions though.
And my last class? US History. I like US. Way more than I like World or European. Since I already had two AP classes, I didn't want to pile on a third that I wouldn't be able to handle. So I didn't. And now I'm in a regular history class with mostly retarded kids. I hate being one of the smartest persons in a regular class, because once they know I am, they harass me constantly for answers to everything. At least in an advanced class, everyone is somewhat smarter, and they know enough to figure things out themselves. But just like in English, all the kids in my US class just want to talk the entire time. It drives me insane. :/.
Well, as much fun as this was, I have to end this here. "So soon?" Sadly, yes. My parents need the internet or something like that. I don't get online much anymore, so I'm not sure how often I'll be able to rant on here. I do know that this weekend I'll definitely be online at some point. And hopefully I'll have more to say then. Later.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment